Observations after two weeks on m-B12 (originally written 1/27/2008)

We’ve been giving Nate the at-home methyl-B12 shots for two weeks now. His sleep is back to acceptable levels (not great, but acceptable)–he’s going to bed at a regular 8:00 and getting up usually between 6:00 and 7:00, with night wakings still common. We put a gate on his door, which is helping.

At the end of every day this past week (Monday-Friday), I sat down and thought, “Wow, today was a pretty good day.” No major meltdowns, generally good cooperation, good language. Nate has also started asking a few questions in the last week to 10 days, including, “Who it is?” when I answered the door and he couldn’t see who it was, and “Mama, where are you?” a couple of times (he seemed to be saying that one more to himself than actually calling out to me, but still, it’s a great step). He has never asked questions before.

In general, Nate just looks healthier: his complexion is smoother and brighter, and the bumps on his legs are better. I attribute these changes to the diet but also recognize that m-B12 could be contributing.

The actual shot-giving is not too fun. It requires two of us (one to hold down, one to give), and Nate doesn’t like it at all. He still cried this last time, but he didn’t act like the shot hurt him, so that’s good. I’m planning on asking the doctor this week for some EMLA (numbing) cream.

Overall, I’m pleased with the lessening of bad side effects and am excited to see what other positive changes occur.

2 thoughts on “Observations after two weeks on m-B12 (originally written 1/27/2008)

  1. Julie March 1, 2008 / 6:20 pm

    Hi,
    I just wanted to suggest giving the shot whn your son is sleeping. We started about 2 weeks ago. We saw Dr Neubrander in NJ. My son is a lite sleeper but I wait until he goes to sleep, I put the numbing cream on and wait 45 minutes. Sometimes he flinches but the last 2 times he was in a pretty deep sleep and He never even moved.

    Julie

  2. editorkatie March 1, 2008 / 8:24 pm

    Julie, thank you for the suggestion! It is always nice to hear how other parents are doing things and what is working for their kids.

    I did give Nate a few of his shots while he was asleep (naps), but when I woke him up with one, it kind of traumatized me… šŸ™‚ I never did do the shots while he was asleep for the night, when he does sleep more soundly, but now I’ve been giving him a “special cookie” or letting him play with a desired toy that is usually off limits as a reward after the shots. It has been working pretty well.

Comments are closed.