Recovering from autism… with food?

Day 1: Recovering from autism… with food? – scroll down to read

Day 2: The stages of diagnosis grief

Day 3: Enzymes to diet

Day 4: Changing diet, changing outcomes

Day 5: A shift in perspective

Day 6: Our GAPS experience

Day 7: Recipes that saved my sanity

Day 8: Food at school

Day 9: A look at why

Day 10: On motherhood and autism

Day 11: More sanity-saving recipes

Day 12: Nourishing recipes worth taking time for: broth

Day 13: Nourishing recipes worth taking time for: ferments

Day 14: Intro to fermenting

Day 15: An eggcelent post

Day 16: Raising chickens to overcome fear of animals

Day 17: Teaching kids about nutrition

Day 18: Food and grace

Day 19: I took a day off! 🙂

Day 20: A day in the life: what our daily eating looks like

Day 21: Details from a day in the life: breakfast

Day 22: Details from a day in the life: lunch

Day 23: Details from a day in the life: dinner

Day 24: A nutty treat

Day 25: A recipe worth the wait

Day 26: I took another Sunday off.

Day 27: Eating well when eating out

Day 28: Q & A time

Day 29: No Qs to A!

Day 30: Why I write

Day 31: 31 Days: my favorites

Hi. I’m Katie. You might have seen me before. I was the one following her two-year-old son around at the playground, showing him how to “play.” I was the one trying not to cry in the Target checkout line while her obviously-old-enough-to-talk child stared blankly into space when the checker tried to ask him something. I was the one feeding her kid Fritos and ketchup. I was the one hoping that some day, her son would call her “mama.”

Our son, Nate, was diagnosed with moderate autism when he was 22 months old (March, 2007). We had suspected the diagnosis for a few months (though we were still surprised at the “moderate” label): Nate was still nonverbal, did not point, did not make much eye contact, did not play “properly” with toys, was not able to communicate.

29Outsidefavorite1
Nate in March, 2007, the month of his diagnosis
Nate at 22 months
Nate at 22 months

After his diagnosis, we increased the mainstream therapies he had already begun (speech, occupational, physical, and behavioral). That was all I was ready for. I heard pretty quickly through friends I met in the autism community about how making diet changes could have an impact, but I wasn’t ready to hear that, yet. I had to spend some time grieving the loss of what I thought mothering was going to be like. Plus, there was no way my child, who ate only quesadillas, pizza, yogurt, cheese, chicken nuggets, fries, bananas, waffles, and baby food fruits, would be able to eat a diet without gluten (wheat) or casein (dairy). I felt too overwhelmed to think about trying to change Nate’s diet.

As part of the 31 Days writing challenge, I’ll be detailing our family’s journey through autism as it relates to the one lifestyle change we made that had the greatest impact on our son’s recovery: nutrition. I say journey purposefully: it has been quite a road to get to where we are now. I tried a lot of other things first before finally deciding to give diet change a try, and even then, I did things in a way that doesn’t match how we do things now. Stick with me this month and read all about our eight-year success story, my favorite recipes, how we “do” food at school, and more!

28 thoughts on “Recovering from autism… with food?

  1. Tami October 3, 2014 / 8:15 pm

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about autism and it’s relation to food.

Comments are closed.