Food and grace

grace_and_foodMy friend posted a thought-provoking piece about food guilt, about the stress and pressure now in our culture to eat a certain way, about “think[ing] that we are deep down somehow better than all those other people” who don’t eat like we do. It got me thinking about my topic this month and what I don’t want to convey.

Eight years ago, I did none of this food stuff and didn’t think I ever would become “that person.” So if there is one thing viewing these last eight years through the lens of my thoughts on nutrition has taught me, it’s that we’re all on our own journeys and we’re all at different places on our journeys.

My intention with these posts this month is possibly to help families dealing specifically with autism. I don’t mean to guilt anyone into doing anything. By detailing the process we went through (specifically in posts here, here, here, and here), I wanted to show that this was a process–a difficult process. But it’s a process that was worth it to us, because we saw changes in Nate that any parent would long for.

But Ashley did remind me that, ultimately, it’s about grace (or as she said, “It’s about the people.”). When nutrition becomes so important to me that I exclude others from my life or my kids’ lives because of it, that’s a problem. So while this is something I’m passionate about, it can’t be what I’m most IMG_4858passionate about. Thanks for the reminder, my friend.

I plan on taking a break from everyday posting tomorrow, as it is Sunday and I don’t yet have a post planned! So I’ll see you Monday. 🙂

This post is part of the 31 Days writing challenge, during which I’m detailing our family’s journey through autism as it relates to the one lifestyle change we made that had the greatest impact on our son’s recovery: nutrition. Click here for a list of all this month’s entries as they are posted.

2 thoughts on “Food and grace

  1. Ashley October 18, 2014 / 9:31 am

    Thanks for linking up Katie! I love your series. There’s such a delicate balance between doing things that are right and true and good, and making them ultimate things. 🙂

Comments are closed.