Details from a day in the life: breakfast

Yesterday, I gave some basics on what our daily eating generally looks like. Here are the details on breakfast.

Once every two weeks or so, I make a big batch of these sausage patties. Once they’ve cooked in the oven and cooled on the counter, I put them in the freezer. Then, in the mornings, I put a couple into the toaster oven at around 300 degrees for 7-8 minutes. If we were crunched for time and I could only serve one thing for breakfast, it would be these! They’re packed with protein, good fats, and vegetables.

Sausage patties

Makes approximately 24.

2 pounds ground meat (I use grass-fed beef)

2 eggs

1 T sea salt

1 tsp cumin

½ tsp pepper

¼ tsp ground ginger

handful of greens like kale, spinach, chard

1-2 carrots

1 small onion

1 squash, zucchini, raw or cooked cauliflower, or whatever other vegetable you have on hand that you want to add

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all ingredients except meat in a food processor and process until smooth. Add mixture to ground meat in a large bowl, and mix together with your hands, a la meat loaf. Once incorporated, form patties and arrange on cookie sheets. Place in oven and cook for 30 minutes. Remove from oven, allow to cool, and store in the freezer.

Most days, we also have oatmeal (though Nate doesn’t like it so I don’t make it for him). Here’s how I prepare ours:

Oatmeal

Put 1 to 1¼ cup warm filtered water into a pot. Add scant cup gluten-free rolled oats. (If using steel cut oats, use 2 cups water to 1 cup oats.) Add one Tablespoon of an acidic liquid like lemon juice or whey. Let sit for 7 hours or overnight.

In the morning, no need to drain. Just turn on your burner and bring to a medium-high heat. When bubbling, turn to low and cover the pot. Let simmer for about 5 minutes, then remove cover and stir. Sometimes I let ours cook a couple minutes more with the top off.

To serve, put into bowls (this serves two) and put a huge pat of grass-fed butter on top. Sprinkle with cinnamon and drizzle with raw honey or grade B maple syrup.

See www.keeperofthehome.org/2008/04/soaking-oatmeal.html for more details!

See www.weedemandreap.com/guide-soaking-sprouting-sour-leavening-grains-part-5/ for a great intro to soaking.

Finally, scrambled eggs are almost always part of our breakfasts. It’s not rocket science, I know, but here’s how we do ours:

Scrambled eggs

Heat 1 Tablespoon coconut oil in skillet over medium heat. Crack 8-9 eggs into a bowl and whisk. (I don’t add any other liquid! But if you want to, you can add a liquid–raw milk if available or even water.) When the skillet is hot, add the eggs. Let cook for a bit, then scramble to the doneness you like.

This post is part of the 31 Days writing challenge, during which I’m detailing our family’s journey through autism as it relates to the one lifestyle change we made that had the greatest impact on our son’s recovery: nutrition. Click here for a list of all this month’s entries as they are posted.

6 thoughts on “Details from a day in the life: breakfast

  1. Ashley October 21, 2014 / 1:03 pm

    Where do you find the best price is for grass-fed beef?

    • editorkatie October 21, 2014 / 2:17 pm

      Hey Ash! I usually get mine at Trader Joe’s–frozen. I had too many quality issues with their refrigerated grass-fed. The price is decent (but still shocking if coming from purchasing non-grass-fed). When I really want awesome quality, I get beef from a local rancher who comes to the Laguna Hills farmers market.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      • Ashley October 21, 2014 / 2:38 pm

        I didn’t know they had frozen grass-fed; I’ve just bought their refrigerated one. Will check it out! And local ranchers are awesome. I dream of having the funds and storage to get a 1/2 grass-fed cow.

      • editorkatie October 21, 2014 / 2:50 pm

        Funds and storage are what I lack, too! 🙂

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

Comments are closed.