Details from a day in the life: dinner

This week I’ve been detailing what our typical breakfasts (all about efficiency), lunches (all about nutritious taste), and dinners involve. Today let’s look at dinner!

Since dinner is more about variety, I don’t have a “typical” dinner that we eat. However, my tried-and-true, make-them-at-least-twice-a-month meals are lettuce-wrap tacos, spicy honey chicken and sweet potato rounds, and oven-roasted chicken.

Lettuce-wrap tacos

I used to think making taco meat meant using one of those spice packets, but have you looked at those ingredients? You can easily make your own spice combination, or simply brown ground beef with salt, pepper, and 4-5 minced garlic cloves. Then dice and/or prepare your other desired ingredients: tomatoes, avocado (a must for us!), green onions, cheese (if your fam does cheese), salsa, etc. Peel lettuce leaves, and use them like tortillas. Easy!

Spicy honey chickenspicy honey chicken with honey

This is our family’s favorite dinner recipe, hands down. I make a huge batch of the spice rub and have it on hand all the time.

You wouldn’t think that a spice rub would make that big of a difference, but MAN does it. Also, I think chicken thighs taste much better with this recipe than breasts. Grilling also adds that extra deliciousness factor, but I have made this on the stovetop before and it does still taste good.

Sweet potato rounds

This recipe evolved from when I used to make sweet potato fries. Cutting the fry shape gets pretty laborious, so I tried doing it this way, and we all love it!

Preheat oven to 375. Slice sweet potatoes into 1/4-inch rounds (not TOO thin or they’ll burn). Coat both sides in coconut oil, then spread evenly in one layer on a cookie sheet. Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Put in oven for approximately 45 minutes. They should be crisp (and delicious) like fries.

Oven-roasted chicken

I like this recipe so much! I like making a whole chicken, because we can use the leftovers for multiple things, and then I use the bones to make broth.

This post is part of the 31 Days writing challenge, during which I’m detailing our family’s journey through autism as it relates to the one lifestyle change we made that had the greatest impact on our son’s recovery: nutrition. Click here for a list of all this month’s entries as they are posted.

4 thoughts on “Details from a day in the life: dinner

  1. Ashley October 23, 2014 / 8:54 am

    Can’t wait to try! Do you have a broth recipe? I haven’t got that down yet.

Comments are closed.